Sailrite Enterprises, Inc. Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Sewing Machines > Industrial Sewing Machines
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

This forum is now a read-only site and discussions have been archived. You can still read the content but will no longer be able to post. For our ongoing how-to project blogs and video content, visit our “How-To” page at www.sailrite.com. For one-on-one assistance, email us at support@sailrite.com.

Forum LockedSinger 20u into a Sailrite SR200

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Forum Member
Forum Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote ErikFinn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Singer 20u into a Sailrite SR200
    Posted: 25 November 2017 at 12:54pm
Hi guys,
newbie here looking to get some guidance..
I have a Singer 20u 11/13 blue japanese made machine (head only) I bought nonworking and which I completely took apart (exept for the main shaft because I could not get the locking screw open, maybe good for me hehe), the zig zag cam and assembly were sticking and the previous owner had used some sort of spray lubricant which had transformed into gunk and almost like carbon like soot.
Anyways long story short, the machine is now moving freely and seems like it might work, but I still need a few parts and since it's only a head I need a motor also.
I only recently learned about Sailrite SR200, which I understand is a modified Singer 20u with heavier springs, a nice wooden box, and a 1,5 amp motor bolted to the rear, a monster wheel, and so the machine is a nice portable package.