Sailrite Enterprises, Inc. Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Sewing Machines > Home Sewing Machines
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

This forum is now a read-only site and discussions have been archived. You can still read the content but will no longer be able to post. For our ongoing how-to project blogs and video content, visit our “How-To” page at www.sailrite.com. For one-on-one assistance, email us at support@sailrite.com.

Forum LockedOlder machine info please!

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Guest Group
Guest Group
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Guests Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Older machine info please!
    Posted: 03 February 2008 at 10:43pm
Hi all,

Newbie here looking to get an older sewing machine to sew sails and make repairs.  Nothing to intense, sails are for a 24' boat.

What should the machine be able to do?
What models/brands should I look for?
Is there a book or site with information on older machines and there capabilites?

edit/ specifically any thoughts on the Pfaff 130?

Thanks all for the help and any advice would be much appreciated.

Edited by AdamS - 04 February 2008 at 8:29am
MattGrant View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Sailrite Employee - Expert

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MattGrant Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 February 2008 at 9:29am
Of course I am biased to the Sailrite machines so my recommendation is the Ultrafeed LSZ-1.

Sailrite does sell a book called the "Sail Repair Manual" #36302 which discusses souping up a home sewing machine and also covers older home machines which have some beef to them. You might get this book.

Phaff 130 is a good older machine and they do reasonably well. The main drawbacks will be no walking foot, nominal power and short straight stitch length which is not ideal for canvas work.

Thanks, Matt
Sailrite

Guests View Drop Down
Guest Group
Guest Group