Sailrite Enterprises, Inc. Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Sewing Machines > Home Sewing Machines
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

This forum is now a read-only site and discussions have been archived. You can still read the content but will no longer be able to post. For our ongoing how-to project blogs and video content, visit our “How-To” page at www.sailrite.com. For one-on-one assistance, email us at support@sailrite.com.

Forum LockedHow do I Choose a Home Sewing Machine?

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
Forum Member
Forum Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote banjo48 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 June 2015 at 7:48am
Maybe look for a vintage Singer ? I bought a 65 year old 201K for $40au, under the shabby wooden cover it was like new condition, wiring was a bit suspect but I'm an electrician so soon sorted that.
But the important thing is its all metal and built like a tank.

It sews like dream with a perfect stitch, and is great for lightweight fabrics up to medium (some actually use them for real heavy stuff from what I've read on forums) I am now buying a Seiko industrial machine for the real heavy fabrics and canvas etc.

Just a thought anyway. Better than a cheap Janome or similar with plastic bits and pieces inside IMO.
adolf25 View Drop Down
Forum Member
Forum Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote adolf25 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 July 2015 at 7:27am
There are a few main brands that you are going to see when you go browsing for a new machine: Singer, Brother, Janome, Kenmore, White, Pfaff, Husqvarna Viking, Bernina, Babylock, and Juki. When considering brand, you want to think about how the machine is constructed and where the machine is made. Many brands no longer use parts made from metal, instead relying upon plastic, causing the machines to not last quite as long.
adolf
adolf25 View Drop Down